Main content

research scientists at work

A joint program by EPF Lausanne and ETH Zurich, two of Europe's leading science and engineering schools.

ETH Zurich (D-MAVT) and EPF Lausanne (Section of Physics), associated to the Paul Scherrer Institute, have combined their expertise to offer a Master's Program in Nuclear Engineering addressing the challenges of the sector in the 21st century. This program prepares students for the diversity found at the frontiers of research and industrial development in the field of nuclear technology

Talks & events D-MAVT

29 June 2017, Talk

Sharing is saving - how collaborative mobility can reduce travel related energy consumption

Read more 

3 July 2017, Talk

Recent Advances in Dynamic Systems

Read more 

28 August 2017, Congress

New cold-chain and packaging technologies to reduce food losses

Read more 

Movie - Students opinion



The eyes have it

Patients with age-related retinal disease need regular injections in the eye. At the moment, these must be given by specially trained medical doctors, but a robot may well handle this task in the near future. Read more 


Summer Camp «Mission Rosetta»

Supported by the Department of Mechanical Engineering from ETH Zurich and other partners, “MINT & Pepper” offers children and adolescents the opportunity to gain insight into mathematics, science and technology. Read more 


From ETH to MIT

Wim van Rees, a former doctoral student with Petros Koumoutsakos, Chair for Computational Science at D-MAVT, has been appointed Assistant Professor at Department of Mechanical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). His research focuses on fluid mechanics, flow-structure interaction and fish hydrodynamics.


Studienwoche 2017

During the event "ETH Studienwoche 2017”, 30 high school students had the opportunity to meet students and scientists from the three engineering departments Computer Science (D-INFK), Information Technology and Electrical Engineering (D-ITET)as well as Mechanical Engineering (D-MAVT) and to gain a first impression of their work. Read more 


Awards for robot experts

Researchers from the Autonomous Systems Lab (ASL) at ETH Zurich received several awards for their work at the 2017 IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA) from 29 May to 3 June 2017 in Singapore. Read more 

Page URL:
Mon Jun 26 06:10:06 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich